Information on Cookies

To make the best use of our website, you'll need to make sure your web browser is set to accept cookies to ensure you receive the best experience.

For further information, please read our Cookies Policy.

Log In

Go To News
Local COVID-19 alert level update: 15 October 2020 Published Date: 15/10/2020

The following areas will move from local COVID alert level: medium to local COVID alert level: high from Saturday 17 October 00:01:

  • London (all 32 boroughs and the City of London)
  • Elmbridge
  • Essex (area covered by Essex County Council only)
  • Barrow-in-Furness
  • York
  • North East Derbyshire
  • Erewash
  • Chesterfield

This means that for these areas, the following measures will be in place:

  • people must not meet with anybody outside their household or support bubble in any indoor setting, whether at home or in a public place
  • people must not meet in a group of more than 6 outside, including in a garden or other space
  • people should aim to reduce the number of journeys they make where possible. If they need to travel, they should walk or cycle where possible, or plan ahead and avoid busy times and routes on public transport

These measures will be reviewed every 14 days to consider whether they are still appropriate.

Speaking in the House, Health and Social Care Secretary Matt Hancock said:

“I know that these restrictions are difficult for people. I hate the fact that we have to bring them in. But it is essential that we do bring them in, both to keep people safe, and to prevent greater economic damage in the future.

“When a virus is moving fast, we cannot stay still. And if we act collectively, we know we can control the virus, because we have done it before.”

Background information

On 12 October, the government introduced a new, simplified framework for local interventions based around three new Local COVID Alert Levels.

The postcode checker shows which alert level applies in each area. The NHS COVID-19 app will also direct people to this information.

There is guidance on each local COVID alert level

The government says that throughout the pandemic, it has listened carefully to the views of the scientific community, in particular the information from the Scientific Advisory Group for Emergencies (SAGE) and its sub-groups when taking decisions on the best way to tackle the pandemic.

Latest data by area

The 7-day average case rate per 100,000 people today stands at:

  • London (all 32 boroughs and the City of London): 97
  • Elmbridge: 144
  • Essex (area covered by Essex County Council only): District rates range from 50 to 101
  • Barrow-in-Furness: 292
  • York: 260
  • North East Derbyshire: 174
  • Erewash: 165
  • Chesterfield: 140

Health Secretary, Matt Hancock gave an oral statement to Parliament on 15th October setting out the current position which has led to the changes to the alert levels.

Local COVID Alert levels (15 October 2020)

Below is the list of alert levels as at 15 October 2020, including the impending changes which will come into effect on Saturday 17 October:

Local COVID alert level: medium

All areas in England are medium, apart from those listed below as high or very high.

Local COVID alert level: high

The following areas will be in local COVID alert level: high from midnight on Saturday 17 October.

See the areas that are currently in local COVID alert level: high.


  • Barrow-in-Furness


  • Chesterfield
  • Erewash
  • North East Derbyshire


  • Basildon
  • Braintree
  • Brentwood
  • Castle Point
  • Chelmsford
  • Colchester
  • Epping Forest
  • Harlow
  • Maldon
  • Rochford
  • Tendring
  • Uttlesford


  • all 32 boroughs plus the City of London


  • Elmbridge


  • York

The following areas are currently in local COVID alert level: high.


  • Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cheshire East
  • Warrington

Greater Manchester

  • Manchester
  • Bolton
  • Bury
  • Stockport
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • Wigan
  • Salford
  • Rochdale
  • Oldham


High Peak ‒ the wards of:

  • Tintwistle
  • Padfield
  • Dinting
  • St John’s
  • Old Glossop
  • Whitfield
  • Simmondley
  • Gamesley
  • Howard Town
  • Hadfield South
  • Hadfield North


  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Burnley
  • Chorley
  • Fylde
  • Hyndburn
  • Lancaster
  • Pendle
  • Preston
  • Ribble Valley
  • Rossendale
  • South Ribble
  • West Lancashire
  • Wyre

West Yorkshire

  • Leeds
  • Bradford
  • Kirklees
  • Calderdale
  • Wakefield

South Yorkshire

  • Barnsley
  • Rotherham
  • Doncaster
  • Sheffield


  • Durham


  • Northumberland

Tyne and Wear

  • Newcastle
  • South Tyneside
  • North Tyneside
  • Gateshead
  • Sunderland

Tees Valley

  • Middlesbrough
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • Darlington
  • Hartlepool

West Midlands

  • Birmingham
  • Sandwell
  • Solihull
  • Wolverhampton
  • Walsall


  • Leicester
  • Oadby and Wigston


  • Ashfield
  • Bassetlaw
  • Broxtowe
  • Gedling
  • Mansfield
  • Newark & Sherwood
  • Nottingham City
  • Rushcliffe

Local COVID alert level: very high

Liverpool City Region

Find out what you can and cannot do if you live, work or travel in the Liverpool City Region.

  • Liverpool
  • Knowsley
  • Wirral
  • St Helens
  • Sefton
  • Halton